Dr. Andreas Sasdi

Lawyer | Partner
Specialist Lawyer for intellectual property law

Office Stuttgart

Tel: +49 711 953 382 0
E-Mail: sasdi@quack.legal

Business activity

  • Banking and capital market law
  • Corporate law
  • Intellectual property law

Languages

German, English

 

Assistant

Claudia Breusch
Tel: +49 711 953 382 18

BANKING AND CAPITAL MARKET LAW

Dr Andreas Sasdi is the counter model to an investor protection lawyer. While investor protection lawyers primarily represent investors, Dr Sasdi regularly represents their adversaries. They usually are those responsible for prospectuses (issuing houses, offerers and founding shareholders, etc.) and intermediate financial service providers (independent agents, financial service institutes and financial advisors), which in case of doubt are held responsible if the yields set out in the prospectus are not realized or if there even is the threat of a total loss of the investments made by the investor. In 2018 alone, Dr Sasdi supported his clients in approximately 200 civil proceedings and in a large number of model case proceedings. The focus of the proceedings usually is on alleged mistakes in the prospectus, violation of "ad hoc" notification obligations or the acting representative bodies exceeding their authority. In the case of financial service providers, proceedings usually focus on the question of the extent to which advice or mediation violated disclosure obligations and/or whether clients had not been advised in a manner appropriate for investor and/or investment. 

In addition to his forensic activities, which cover the majority of his activities, Dr Sasdi also advises his clients conceptually and with regard to structure, creation and preparation of financial instruments, supports and represents his clients in regulatory proceedings before the BaFin and also offers his clients (mostly required by banks) the monitoring of legal regulations ("compliance"). Dr Sasdi also advises independent agents and financial services institutions with regard to the drafting and revision of their advisory protocols and their advisory and agency agreements.

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAW

Dr Andreas Sasdi advises his clients on the development of brand strategies and the establishment of a brand portfolio. In addition, he takes care of all services, from the search of a trademark to the registration and monitoring of a trademark to its defence and enforcement against third parties. He registers German trademarks, union trademarks and IR trademarks for his clients, ensures priority abroad and coordinates trademark applications outside Europe, using his global network of highly specialized trademark consultants. He also manages his clients' trademark portfolios with the German Patent and Trademark Office, the Office of the European Union for Intellectual Property (EUIPO) and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and ensures their renewal.

At the request of his clients, in the event of infringements of industrial property rights, Dr Sasdi issues warning letters to any trademark infringers and, if necessary, enforces the client's claims for injunctive relief by way of an injunction and/or in the main proceedings. He also represents his clients in opposition and cancellation proceedings and defends his clients' trademark rights before the DPMA, EUIPO and WIPO.

SUPERVISORY BOARD ACTIVITY

Dr Andreas Sasdi is on supervisory boards of several medium-sized companies. He also is a board member of the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR) and co-editor of the publication series "Europäisches und internationales Wirtschaftsrecht". Lastly, he is a statutory agent of several non-profit organisations.

Vita

Law studies in Erlangen and Tübingen between 1994 and 1998. Doctoral thesis on international IP law, Tübingen, 2003. Attorney-at-law since 2001. First as a lawyer in an outsourced law firm of Wirtschaftstreuhand GmbH, between 2004 and 2015 partner with Baumann Sasdi Sander, since 2015 partner with SGT Rechtsanwälte. Specialist attorney for intellectual property law.

Memberships

  • Rechtsanwaltskammer Stuttgart
  • Deutscher Anwaltverein (DAV)
  • Bezirksgruppe Südwest der Deutschen Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (Mitglied des Vorstands); Handels- und Gewerbeverein Stuttgart Stadt e.V.

Dr. Andreas Sasdi

Rechtsanwalt | Partner
Fachanwalt für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz

Büro Stuttgart

Tel: +49 711 953 382 0
E-Mail: sasdi@quack.legal

Tätigkeitsbereiche

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch

 

Assistentin

Claudia Breusch
Tel: +49 711 953 382 18

Bank- und Kapitalmarktrecht

Dr. Andreas Sasdi ist das Gegenmodell zum Anlegerschutzanwalt. Während Anlegerschutzanwälte vorrangig Anleger vertreten, vertritt Dr. Sasdi regelmäßig deren Prozessgegner. Hierbei handelt es sich regelmäßig um die Prospektverantwortlichen (Emissionshäuser, Anbieter und Gründungsgesellschafter etc.) und die zwischengeschalteten Finanzdienstleister (freie Vermittler, Finanzdienstleistungsinstitute und Vermögensberater), welche im Zweifel dafür verantwortlich gemacht werden, wenn die prospektierten Erträge ausbleiben oder gar ein Totalverlust der vom Anleger getätigten Investitionen droht. Allein im Jahr 2018 begleitete Herr Dr. Sasdi seine Kunden in ca. 200 Zivilverfahren und in einer Vielzahl von Musterfeststellungsverfahren. Der Fokus der Prozesse ist meist auf vermeintliche Prospektfehler, Verletzung von „Ad hoc“-Mitteilungspflichten oder die Kompetenzüberschreitung der handelnden Vertretungsorgane gerichtet. Bei den Finanzdienstleistern konzentrieren sich die Verfahren meist auf die Frage, inwiefern bei der Beratung oder Vermittlung Aufklärungspflichten verletzt und/oder die Kunden nicht anleger- und/oder anlagegerecht beraten wurden. 

Neben der forensischen Tätigkeit, welche einen Großteil seiner Tätigkeiten abdeckt, berät Dr. Sasdi seine Kunden auch konzeptionell und beratend bei der Gestaltung, Erstellung und Vorbereitung von Finanzinstrumenten, unterstützt und vertritt seine Kunden in aufsichtsrechtlichen Verfahren gegenüber der BaFin und bietet seinen Kunden (meist von Banken benötigt) auch die Überwachung von gesetzlichen Regularien („Compliance“) an. Ferner berät Dr. Sasdi freie Vermittler und Finanzdienstleistungsinstitute bei der Konzeption und Überarbeitung ihrer Beratungsprotokolle und ihrer Beratungs- und Geschäftsbesorgungsverträge.

Gewerblicher Rechtsschutz

Dr. Andreas Sasdi berät seine Kunden bei der Entwicklung von Markenstrategien und beim Aufbau eines Markenportfolios. Darüber hinaus übernimmt er sämtliche Leistungen, von der Recherche einer Marke über die Anmeldung und Überwachung einer Marke bis zu deren Verteidigung und Durchsetzung gegenüber Dritten. Er meldet für seine Mandanten deutsche Marken, Unionsmarken und IR-Marken an, sichert die Priorität im Ausland und koordiniert mit Hilfe seines weltweit aufgebauten Netzwerks an markenrechtlich hochspezialisierten Beratern auch die Markenanmeldungen außerhalb Europas. Schließlich verwaltet er die Markenportfolios seiner Mandanten auch beim Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) und der World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) und stellt deren Verlängerung sicher.

Im Falle von Schutzrechtsverletzungen mahnt Herr Dr. Sasdi auf Wunsch seiner Kunden etwaige Markenverletzer ab und setzt die Unterlassungsansprüche der Kunden gegebenenfalls per einstweiliger Verfügung und/oder im Hauptsacheverfahren durch. Schließlich vertritt er seine Kunden auch in Widerspruchs- und Löschungsverfahren und verteidigt die Markenrechte seiner Kunden vor dem DPMA, der EUIPO und der WIPO.

Aufsichtsratstätigkeit

Dr. Andreas Sasdi sitzt im Aufsichtsrat mehrerer mittelständischer Unternehmen. Ferner ist er Vorstandsmitglied der Deutschen Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (GRUR) und Mitherausgeber der Schriftenreihe "Europäisches und internationales Wirtschaftsrecht". Schließlich ist er Organ mehrerer gemeinnütziger Organisationen.

Vita

Studium der Rechtswissenschaften in Erlangen und Tübingen zwischen 1994 und 1998. Promotion zum internationalen IP-Recht in Tübingen im Jahr 2003. Rechtsanwalt seit 2001. Zuerst Anwalt in einer ausgegliederten Rechtsanwaltskanzlei der Wirtschaftstreuhand GmbH, zwischen 2004 und 2015 Partner der Kanzlei Baumann Sasdi Sander, seit 2015 Partner bei SGT Rechtsanwälte. Seit 2008 Fachanwalt für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz.

Mitgliedschaften

  • Rechtsanwaltskammer Stuttgart
  • Deutscher Anwaltverein (DAV)
  • Bezirksgruppe Südwest der Deutschen Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (Mitglied des Vorstands); Handels- und Gewerbeverein Stuttgart Stadt e.V.