Norbert H. Quack

Attorney-at-law and retired notary | Partner

Office Stuttgart
Tel: +49 711 953 382 0
E-Mail:  quack@quack.legal

Business activity

 

Languages
German, English, French (colloquial)

 

Assistant
Petra Strohmaier
Tel: +49 711 95 33 82 17

Activity

For more than four decades, Norbert H. Quack’s professional activities have focused on providing legal advice to medium-sized companies, their owners and their families. Time and again, the balance and, above all, the sustainability of the company's corporate structure are at stake here. The mutual relationship among owners has to be structured in the same way as their relationship to the management as well as to possible and frequently encountered bodies such as a supervisory board, advisory board etc. Legal certainty for the avoidance of disputes, generational change and succession issues as well as rules for the settlement of differences of opinion are essential components of the advisory tasks. The entrepreneurial perspective is always a special concern.

These tasks also include the legal implementation of any necessary adjustments to the business model pursued. On the one hand, this involves internal growth through the bundling of forces, as well as through the establishment of joint ventures with partners and the disposal of subsidiaries or individual operations. This focusing of activities also goes hand in hand with a legal and organisational reorganization of the group of companies at intervals. On the other hand, external growth is created through the acquisition of new business units. These M&A activities often extend to complex measures under transformation law. Apart from the preparation of such an acquisition transaction by examining issues of antitrust, employment, trademark and patent law and other company-specific questions through due diligence, the focus is on negotiating the corporate acquisition agreement. 

In the last ten years, due to special mandate situations, Norbert H. Quack has also dealt with legal issues of the law of supervision of companies in the financial sector with a focus on accounting including IFRS, risk management and the payment transactions of credit and payment institutions.

Norbert H. Quack worked as a notary until he reached the statutory age of retirement in 2017. Here, too, his focus was on corporate law. Another focus was on inheritance law with the drafting of wills of entrepreneurs, contracts of inheritance and contracts for an anticipated succession.

In many cases, advisory activities have been and are accompanied by participation in supervisory boards and similar corporate bodies. Apart from the control function of such bodies, the focus is on advising management and shareholders' meetings, always from an entrepreneurial perspective and guided by the company's interests. For the lawyer a clear and also particularly helpful extension of the perspective and the wealth of experience.

Vita

Norbert H. Quack was born in 1947 in Mönchengladbach-Rheydt. He attended the "Gymnasium" in Odenkirchen and graduated with "Abitur" in 1966. He previously spent a year as an exchange student in the USA. He studied law in Munich and Bonn; he passed his first state examination in law in the summer of 1970. This was followed by two years working in his father's company, before completing his legal clerkship in Düsseldorf and passing the second state examination in law in 1975. 

During his legal clerkship, he worked for the law firm Vetter, Schlenger, Schindler & Jacobson/Düsseldorf, which specializes in business law. After being admitted to the bar in August 1975, he also worked for them. In 1977 he moved to Stuttgart to join Jauch & Sigle & Partner, where he became a partner in 1980. After the firm was split, he remained in Stuttgart and in 1982 founded his own law firm, which until 31 December 2018 operated under the name Quack, Gutterer & Partner. Another law firm was opened in Dresden in 1990. He was appointed a notary at the beginning of 1999; the office ended when he reached the statutory age of retirement in 2017. 

Norbert H. Quack has been a founding partner with BSB Quack Gutterer since 2019.

Publications

see on page publications

Memberships and honorary posts

  • Rechtsanwaltskammer Stuttgart
  • Deutscher Anwaltverein (DAV)
  • Rotary Club Stuttgart-Wildpark
  • Vorstand der Speidel-Stiftung
  • Honorarkonsul der Republik Sri Lanka

Norbert H. Quack

Rechtsanwalt und Notar a.D. | Partner

Büro Stuttgart
Tel: +49 711 953 382 0
E-Mail:  quack@quack.legal

Tätigkeitsbereiche

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch (Umgangssprache)

 

Assistentin

Petra Strohmaier
Tel: +49 711 95 33 82 17

Tätigkeit

Die berufliche Tätigkeit von Norbert H. Quack ist seit mehr als vier Jahrzehnten auf die rechtliche Beratung von mittelständischen Unternehmen samt ihren Eignern und Familien konzentriert. Hierbei geht es immer wieder um die Ausgewogenheit und vor allem um die Zukunftsfähigkeit der gesellschaftsrechtlichen Struktur des Unternehmens. Das Verhältnis der Eigner untereinander ist ebenso zu gestalten wie ihr Verhältnis zur Geschäftsführung sowie zu möglichen und häufig anzutreffenden Organen wie einem Aufsichtsrat, Beirat oder dergleichen. Rechtssicherheit zur Streitvermeidung, Generationenwechsel und Nachfolgefragen sowie Regeln zur Beilegung von Meinungsverschiedenheiten sind wesentlicher Bestandteil der Beratungsaufgaben. Die unternehmerische Perspektive ist stets ein besonderes Anliegen.

Zu diesen Aufgaben zählt auch die rechtliche Umsetzung etwa gebotener Anpassungen des verfolgten Geschäftsmodells. Hier steht einerseits das interne Wachstum durch Bündelung von Kräften im Raum, auch durch Gründung von Gemeinschaftsunternehmen mit Partnern und die Veräußerung von Tochtergesellschaften oder einzelnen Betrieben. Diese Fokussierung der Aktivitäten geht in zeitlichen Abständen auch mit einer rechtlichen und organisatorischen Neuordnung der Unternehmensgruppe einher. Andererseits wird externes Wachstum durch Erwerb neuer Unternehmenseinheiten geschaffen. Diese M&A-Aktivitäten erstrecken sich oftmals auf komplexe Maßnahmen nach dem Umwandlungsrecht. Abgesehen von der Vorbereitung eines solchen Erwerbsvorgangs durch Prüfung von Fragen aus dem Kartell-, Arbeits-, Marken- und Patentrecht und weiterer unternehmensspezifischer Fragen durch eine Due Diligence steht das Aushandeln des Unternehmenskaufvertrages im Mittelpunkt. 

In den letzten zehn Jahren befaßte sich Norbert H. Quack aufgrund besonderer Mandatssituationen zusätzlich mit Rechtsfragen aus dem Recht der Beaufsichtigung von Unternehmen der Finanzbranche mit Schwerpunkten im Bereich des Rechnungswesens einschließlich IFRS, des Risikomanagements und des Zahlungsverkehrs von Kredit- und Zahlungsistituten.

Bis zur Erreichung der gesetzlichen Altersgrenze im Jahr 2017 war Norbert H. Quack als Notar tätig. Auch hier lag sein Schwerpunkt im Bereich des Gesellschaftsrechts. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt bildete das Erbrecht mit der Gestaltung von Unternehmertestamenten, Erbverträgen und Verträgen zu einer vorweggenommenen Erbfolge.

In vielen Fällen ging und geht die Beratungstätigkeit mit einer Mitwirkung in Aufsichtsräten und ähnlichen Unternehmensgremien einher. Abgesehen von der Kontrollfunktion solcher Gremien steht die Beratung von Geschäftsführung und Gesellschafterversammlung im Mittelpunkt und zwar stets aus der unternehmerischen Sicht und geleitet vom Unternehmensinteresse. Für den Anwalt eine deutliche und auch besonders hilfreiche Erweiterung der Perspektive und des Erfahrungsschatzes.

Vita

Norbert H. Quack ist 1947 in Mönchengladbach-Rheydt geboren. Er besuchte das Gymnasium Odenkirchen und machte dort im Jahr 1966 das Abitur. Zuvor verbrachte er ein Jahr als Austauschschüler in den USA. Er studierte Jura in München und Bonn; die Erste Juristische Staatsprüfung legte er im Sommer 1970 ab. Es folgte eine zweijährige Tätigkeit im väterlichen Unternehmen, ehe er in Düsseldorf sein Referendariat antrat und 1975 die Zweite Juristische Staatsprüfung ablegte. 

Während der Referendarzeit erfolgte eine Mitarbeit in der wirtschaftsrechtlich ausgerichteten Anwaltskanzlei Vetter, Schlenger, Schindler & Jacobson/Düsseldorf, für die er dann auch nach seiner Anwaltszulassung im August 1975 tätig war. 1977 wechselte er nach Stuttgart zu Jauch & Sigle & Partner und wurde dort 1980 Partner. Nach Spaltung der Sozietät blieb er in Stuttgart und gründete im Jahr 1982 eine eigene Kanzlei, die bis zum 31.12.2018 unter Quack, Gutterer & Partner firmiert, 1990 erfolgte die Eröffnung einer weiteren Kanzlei in Dresden. Anfang 1999 wurde er zum Notar ernannt; das Amt endete mit Erreichen der gesetzlichen Altersgrenze im Jahr 2017. 

Norbert H. Quack ist Gründungspartner bei BSB Quack Gutterer seit 2019.

Veröffentlichungen

Siehe Publikationen

Mitgliedschaften und Ehrenämter

  • Rechtsanwaltskammer Stuttgart
  • Deutscher Anwaltverein (DAV)
  • Rotary Club Stuttgart-Wildpark
  • Vorstand der Speidel-Stiftung
  • Honorarkonsul der Republik Sri Lanka